Dear Daughter

A letter to my daughter.

From the very first moment that I saw your little face and held you so tight in my arms, I knew that having a daughter was one of the most precious gifts that I would ever receive. You were a sweet baby. You made everyone smile. You brought so much happiness to everyone around. You were a blessing to your dad and I.

Soon you were this adventurous little girl that loved to play dress up and dance around to the radio. You sang us songs and made us laugh with your soft little voice when you would say I love you on Tuesday, instead of I love you always!

Before I knew it you were going to school. You had learned to write your name and how to count to 20 in French. You were growing up so fast – slow down little girl! Then I blinked and now you are a beautiful, smart and strong young woman.

You may think that you have life all figured out, and maybe you do. But just in case let me tell you about a thing or two. Three things that I want you to remember in life.

1. Dare To Be You

People will judge you for many reasons. This is not a reflection of you, but a reflection on how unhappy they may be with their own life. People can be cruel, say mean things without any hesitation. Don’t listen. Stand up tall and remember who you are. Don’t be afraid to be weird, to dress how you want or to cut your hair. Be You. Stay true to your beliefs and they will guide you in life.

2. Love Yourself

The love that I have for you is forever and knows no distant. I will love you no matter where you are.  The  love that you need will come from your own heart. It will guide you and teach you the true beauty in loving another person. It will protect your heart and teach you how others should treat you and how love is suppose to feel in your heart. You will love others, and gosh how others will love you. Don’t be afraid to love, trust in your heart, it knows the way.

3. Forgive Yourself

You will make mistakes!  You will learn and grow with each of them. Don’t be afraid to try new things. You don’t have to be perfect. Venture this crazy world, do crazy things and enjoy every minute of your life. Life was not meant to be perfect.  In your imperfections, you are beautiful. Have fun, be crazy, experience life and make mistakes. Enjoy the moments, learn from the experience and then forgive yourself.

I am so proud of the young, strong, beautiful woman that you are becoming.  I have so much more to teach you, please stay small just a little while more.

I love you on Tuesday’s!!!

This entry was posted in Daughter, Lesson, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Daughter

  1. Lovely words. Your daughter is very lucky to have such a super mum.x

    Like

  2. Double the Monkey Business says:

    Lovely words hun, nice to discover your blog x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

